Brrr Baby Beanie – Free Pattern!

It’s freezing! We are well and truly into mid winter here and it’s downrighty icy outside. The biggest problem I have with keeping my kid’s warm is their ears! So I decided to crochet up a cute little ear flap beanie for T and share the pattern with you all.

I have written it into both US terms and UK terms for ease of reading, no matter which terminology you are familiar with. I’m pretty fluent with both but I know some aren’t. It’s begginner friendly too!

Firstly the copyright formalities: Please do not reproduce, republish or sell without my permission. Please do not claim as your own. Please do not use this pattern for commercial purposes.

Brrr Baby Beanie

Materials needed:

5mm crochet hook (H)

At least 50grams of Panda Concorde yarn, or similar weight yarn (roughly worsted), that gives you gauge. I used a teeny smidge over 1 ball.

Scissors

A toddler to put it on!

Gauge:

3 double crochet per inch.

Size:

This fits my 18 month old quite snugly and his head is roughly 48cm (19in)

Stitches Used:

Chain (ch), Slip stitch (sl st), double crochet (DC), single crochet (sc), Double crochet increase (DC inc), Double crochet decrease (DC dec).

Skill Level:

This pattern is very easy. It is worked in rounds and works up very quickly.

Now for the pattern:

Take your yarn and chain 3. Join with a sl st into the first stitch to make a small circle.

Round 1: Ch 3 (this will be counted as your first DC on this, and every other round following). DC 8 into the circle. No need to put your hook through any stitches, just draw up the yarn through the ring. Sl st into the 3rd chain of the 3ch you made at the start of the round. You should now have 3cg, and 8 DC which we will count as 9 stitches.

Round 2: Ch 3. DC into the same stitch your 3ch are coming from. Now work a DC inc (2 DC into the same stitch) around all your stitches. Sl st into the top of the 3ch when you finish the round. At the end of this round you should have 18 stitches.

Round 3: Ch 3. Work a DC inc into the next stitch. *DC, DC inc*.Repeat *to* around and join with a sl st at the top of the 3 ch. (27 DC)

Round 4: Ch 3. DC in next st. DC inc in next st. *DC 2, DC inc* repeat from *to* around then join with a sl st into to of first 3 ch. (36)

Round 5: Ch 3. DC into next 2 stitches, then DC inc in the next. *DC in next 3 st, DC in into the next* repeat *to* around then join with sl st. (45)

Round 6: Ch 3. DC into next 3 sts, then DC inc. into the next. *DC into next 4 sts, then DC inc* repeat from * to * around and join with sl st. (54)

Round 7 – 14: Ch3, DC around and join with sl st. (54)

Here you can work more rounds to make the hat a little longer if you wish.

When you complete round 14, fasten off. Fold you hat in half, so that the seam where your 3ch are forms one edge of the fold. Turn your hat so the top is facing you, and have the 3ch edge on the LEFT side.

Making the Ear Flaps:

Start from your fasten off point and count 17 stitches across, from left to right. Push your hook through the 17th stitch, wrap the yarn over and pull it back though. Now make a chain, and DC into the same stitch. DC across another 9 stitches, Ch1 and turn.

Now work a DC dec into the first 2 stitches. (Yarn over hook, through the stitch, yarn over hook, pull through first 2 loops. Yarn over hook, push though NEXT stitch, Yarn over hook, pull through first 2 loops, Yarn over hook, pull through ALL loops.) DC across and work a DC dec into the last 2 sts also. Ch1, turn.

Continue to do this for 2 more rows, or until your ear flap is the desired shape. Fasten off.

Turn the hat over, and place another earflap opposite the first, in the same manner.

When you have completed the 2nd flap, draw up another loop at the back seam of the hat, an work a sc edge around the entire hat, along the edge of the ear flaps also. You can get creative here if you like. Try adding shell edging, or picot for a more girly touch. Fasten off. Weave in ends.

This is where I left my hat, but you could add tassels o he ear flaps, or a pom pom on top, a flower appliqué, whatever you like!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Brrr Baby Beanie

UK terminology

Materials needed:

5mm crochet hook (H)

At least 50grams of Panda Concorde yarn, or similar weight yarn (roughly worsted), that gives you gauge. I used a teeny smidge over 1 ball.

Scissors

A toddler to put it on!

Gauge:

3 treble per inch.

Size:

This fits my 18 month old quite snugly and his head is roughly 48cm (19in)

Stitches Used:

Chain (ch), Slip stitch (sl st), double crochet (DC), Treble crochet (tr), Treble crochet increase (tr inc), Treble crochet decrease (tr dec).

Skill Level:

This pattern is very easy. It is worked in rounds and works up very quickly.

Now for the pattern:

Take your yarn and chain 3. Join with a sl st into the first stitch to make a small circle.

Round 1: Ch 3 (this will be counted as your first Tr on this, and every other round following). Tr 8 into the circle. No need to put your hook through any stitches, just draw up the yarn through the ring. Sl st into the 3rd chain of the 3ch you made at the start of the round. You should now have 3cg, and 8 Tr which we will count as 9 stitches.

Round 2: Ch 3. Tr into the same stitch your 3ch are coming from. Now work a Tr inc (2 Tr into the same stitch) around all your stitches. Sl st into the top of the 3ch when you finish the round. At the end of this round you should have 18 stitches.

Round 3: Ch 3. Work a Tr inc into the next stitch. *Tr, Tr inc*.Repeat *to* around and join with a sl st at the top of the 3 ch. (27 Tr)

Round 4: Ch 3. Tr in next st. Tr inc in next st. *Tr 2, Tr inc* repeat from *to* around then join with a sl st into to of first 3 ch. (36)

Round 5: Ch 3. Tr into next 2 stitches, then Tr inc in the next. *Tr in next 3 st, Tr inc into the next* repeat *to* around then join with sl st. (45)

Round 6: Ch 3. Tr into next 3 sts, then Tr inc into the next. *Tr into next 4 sts, then Tr inc* repeat from * to * around and join with sl st. (54)

Round 7 – 14: Ch3, Tr around and join with sl st. (54)

Here you can work more rounds to make the hat a little longer if you wish.

When you complete round 14, fasten off. Fold you hat in half, so that the seam where your 3ch are forms one edge of the fold. Turn your hat so the top is facing you, and have the 3ch edge on the LEFT side.

Making the Ear Flaps:

Start from your fasten off point and count 17 stitches across, from left to right. Push your hook through the 17th stitch, wrap the yarn over and pull it back though. Now make a chain, and Tr into the same stitch. Tr across another 9 stitches, Ch1 and turn.

Now work a Tr dec into the first 2 stitches. (Yarn over hook, through the stitch, yarn over hook, pull through first 2 loops. Yarn over hook, push though NEXT stitch, Yarn over hook, pull through first 2 loops, Yarn over hook, pull through ALL loops.) Tr across and work a Tr dec into the last 2 sts also. Ch1, turn.

Continue to do this for 2 more rows, or until your ear flap is the desired shape. Fasten off.

Turn the hat over, and place another earflap opposite the first, in the same manner.

When you have completed the 2nd flap, draw up another loop at the back seam of the hat, and work a DC edge around the entire hat, along the edge of the ear flaps also. You can get creative here if you like. Try adding shell edging, or picot for a more girly touch. Fasten off. Weave in ends.

This is where I left my hat, but you could add tassels o he ear flaps, or a pom pom on top, a flower appliqué, whatever you like!

And the finished product:

53 thoughts on “Brrr Baby Beanie – Free Pattern!

  1. Pingback: A Baby Jacket | APPLIE’S PLACE

  2. Pingback: Lime & Violet’s Daily Chum » Blog Archive » Free Pattern: Brrr Baby Beanie

  3. its looking like winter up here in the great white north is about to begin, and I know two little neices who will be needing such useful bonnets, better get started — tomorrow for sure…

  4. Thank you for this pattern. It is becoming fall here now. A friend is bringing her baby to visit next week and I’m going to make this in a sweet little soft pink yarn. Thanks again. :)

  5. I love this one. I try to make it, but i am not sure if i understand all the english words. The colour is so wonderful. What a great beanie.

    Thank´s a lot for the pattern and the photos

    Greetings from Bavaria
    ninifee

  6. I love the color of yarn you used and the pattern is supercute! I wouldn’t mind wearing a beanie like that! :)
    Thanks heaps for sharing – you’re super! :)

  7. Pingback: Brrr Baby Beanie Free Pattern | Always Kawaii

  8. What a cute hat (and toddler)! On my to-do list for my baby granddaughter closer to fall. Thanks for sharing it!

  9. Hi there, thanks heaps for the pattern, exactly what I have been looking for. I have just started crocheting beanies for my friends’ babies and found that I am not very good at sizing. are you able to advise the best way to adjust the size of your pattern to suit a toddler with a slightly bigger head? The toddlers I am making this for is 2 years old. Thanks heaps.

    • Hi, my son is now two and it still fits him, though a bit more snug. I suppose the best thing to try would be to use aran weight yarn and maybe one hook size up? Or add an extra increase row, and an extra row to the body.

      Let me know how it goes,
      Tara

    • Hi Barb
      As stated at the start of the pattern, I released this pattern for free but do not wish it to be used for commercial purposes. Thanks.

  10. Great pattern! Because of the yarn I used, after a few rounds I noticed that the hat was getting too big for my 18-month-old nephew, so I adjusted it – did 6 DC’s in the first round, etc. It worked perfectly, the only difference being that the top ended up a little pointy – but my brother and his wife loved that about it, so great!

  11. Hi Tara,
    I was wondering if it would be ok to print out your pattern for a friend who does not have computer access, and makes a lot of hats for preemies and children at our local hospital.

  12. Hello, I want to know if it is alright to print one copy of your pattern? I would like ot make this as a gift for my grandson. Above info said not to reproduce…that confuses me…does that mean not to print a copy from my computer?
    Betty

    • Hi Betty,

      I have no problems with people printing the pattern for personal use. By reproduction I meant don’t publish somewhere else, in digital or print form for sale without permission. Hope you enjoy the pattern :)

  13. i printed this pattern and im going to making a hat for my baby cousin, but where you say double crochet increase, what do you mean. I think I know, but i want to make sure.

    thanks

  14. Pingback: :: the hawley focus ::» Blog Archive » crocheting for baby

    • I haven’t got instructions written down, but to make it bigger just keep adding increase rows, adding one more stitch before your increase on each round, until it is as big as you want it to be :)

  15. Pingback: new winter hats - red cordial revolution

  16. Tara,

    I love this pattern. It’s so darned cute! I am participating in a Christmas bazaar in November sponsored by the local swim team. I’m wondering if I might have permission to sell hats I create with your pattern at the bazaar…?? Thank you for the pattern!

    Karen

  17. Hi, I LOVE this hat, have this pattern with a few other Earflap hats to make for
    my first grandchild – GRANDSON on the way!
    YOUR baby boy is absolutely ADORABLE! So cute!
    But, as I was looking at the pattern info of this hat, I had a “math” problem.

    Starting from the joining edge; You say to skip 16 sts, then dc in next 10 for an earflap,
    that’s 26 sts right there.

    If I do the same on the other side, that makes 52 sts used.
    That will leave only “2” sts available from the original 54, “between” the earflaps.
    That won’t work!

    What am I “not” understanding in this pattern? It’s making me crazy!
    The pattern does not make sense to me. No one commented they had “made” it yet,
    so I didn’t see anyone else having problems.

    I enlarged the picture of the Brr Baby Beanie on my computer and counted the sts.
    With the hat lying flat, there looks to be:
    6 sts for half of back ( x 2 = 12), 10 for earflap (x 2 = 20)
    and 11 for half of the front. (x 2 = 22)

    So, with “those” numbers: 12 + 20 + 22 = 54!
    This is the “only” way I can see to make it work.

    I came up with a theory. It is close if divided into 5ths.
    Picture a pie divided in 5ths, with the upper part of pie having two 5th sections,
    and the other 3/5ths at the lower portion of the pie.

    I have a knitted earflap hat pattern that has 40 sts around the hat.
    The hat is divided into sections of 8, and I noticed 40 divided by 8 = 5 sections.

    It made sense when I saw the numbers in the pattern:
    Starting like the Brr Baby Beanie, at the center back.
    1/2 of back is 4 sts (half of the 8 sts in the bottom #1 – 5th)
    Right Earflap 8 sts, (#2 – 5th section)
    Front 16 sts (#3 & #4 – 5th sections of 8 sts each) at top,
    Left Earflap 8 sts, (#5 – 5th section)
    and other half of back 4 sts. (Other half of 8 sts of #1 – 5th section)
    All these equal 40 sts.

    How can you make your figures come out how the picture shows it to be,
    with 54 sts, unless I’m reading your pattern incorrectly.
    I can’t wait to see your answer! Please!

    Thanks so much, a crocheting, knitting fool that’s getting older & feeling it!
    “Sleepless in Seattle” (from sleep apnea, narcolepsy AND menopause!)

    • Hi Tamica,

      I see how it probably seems at bit confusing reading through it like that. But when you are actually doing it, it makes sense. Are you a member of ravelry.com? There are 305 projects from the pattern there so far.

      Basically, when you turn he hat upside down to add the earflap you count across and add the earflap, 10 stitches wide. Then you flip it over and add another one, also 10 sts wide, exactly opposite. Then only 20 sts are being occupied by the flaps and there are still 34 free? Does that help at all?

      If you see this post I have also made another 3 more recently.

      It is very important that when you turn your hat up to make the ear flaps that the 3ch seam is on the LEFT.

      I hope that helps you :)

  18. I love this! I have just picked up crochet again after 12 or 15 years (my grandmother taught me when I was very young) and this is the second project I’ve done and I was surprised how quickly and easily it worked out (once I remembered how to read a pattern!) I started it last night, and now I just have to add the ear flaps. My daughter loves her hat! Thank you for sharing this super-easy pattern!

  19. Hi Tara,

    first of all, thanks for publishing this supercute pattern. I gave it a try, followed your instructions word by word, but in the 7th round it was clear that i’m doing something wrong. The work started to shape little waves, like there wold be too many stiches in the rounds. I’m using a smaller hook than you suggested, a 3,5 mm one, can this cause such problem? Or what am I missing? Thanks in advance,
    edina

    • Hi Edina,

      Make sure that you are adding one extra DC inbetween the increase every round. Using a smaller hook could make the work tighter and give you a smaller gauge which would effect the shape of the work.

    • Hi Kaitlyn,
      ‘The work will not increase in size one you stop adding increase stitches to the rounds. Once the top of your hat is as large as you want it to be, simply begin DC in every stitch of every round and your work will not increase.

  20. thank you so much for posting this!! I’ve been looking for a good basic beanie pattern and couldnt find one anywhere- going to make it look like a sock monkey hat- wish me luck!

  21. Pingback: Snappy Chic Designs Blog» Blog Archive » crocheting for baby

  22. I had no confusion with this pattern- I LOVE IT and have made 3 dif. hats already.. not sure how to post a pic but they are cute for sure! Thanks again!!!!

  23. Hi, this Is the first time I have attempted to follow a pattern and have a few questions for you.
    When you say *to* what do you mean?
    On round 3 I kept getting way more then 27 DC when I DC Inc the entire way round.

    • Hi Trudy, it simply means you repeat the instruction written between the two *.

      If your stitch count is wrong in round 3, it is possible you may have made an error in the previous round.

  24. Pingback: December 8 | trees all dance

  25. Thanks so much for sharing. I recently tried this as my first crochet project and I am loving it!!! I haven’t made the earflaps yet but will do it today! It’s so awesome. I’ve blogged about it and linked back to you.

  26. Hi
    Great pattern but im doing the UK pattern and on round 2 it says work a tr inc but then says 2 dc into same stitch. Can i just check this should be 2 tr in same stitch? Thanks

  27. Just finished making one! Love the pattern. Simple and easy to follow :) I got a little confused on the ear flap part but I think I figure it out. Here it is if you’d like to see :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

