something special, for someone special

A very dear friend of mine has just tied the knot! And unfortunately, I couldn’t travel to attend the wedding. So instead I picked up my needles and started on the biggest knitting adventure I have ever been on! I have made her a shoulder shawl, complete with beads. I am amazed at how it turned out, and the whole construction of the pattern really. It began with 5 stitches, it ended with 323. The pattern was Swallowtail Shawl, By Evelyn A Clark. At the first read of the pattern, it was very daunting. And the charts made me want to hide in the corner. But the pattern is supplied with both written instructions and charts to accompany them, and very quickly I was finding it much easier to go by chart than the traditional wording. Towards the end of the pattern, I decided to use beads instead of knitting the nupps, and I have to say, they really do it for me!

Hot of the needles, unblocked.

The blocking process underway.

Finished size

Beading detail.

The yarn was Araucania Ranco Solid sock yarn, in colour #102 – Lime.

One thought on “something special, for someone special

Leave a Reply

