Choc Banana Coconut Ice Cream (allergy friendly recipe)

I know you might think I am crazy, but I bought an ice cream maker, in winter. I had wanted one for ages, and when my local kitchen store had a big sale, I couldn’t resist.

Now, before you send me to the loony bin let me explain. As I mentioned in my last post, my eldest son has been diagnosed with a condition called Eosiniphilic Oesophagitis. It was something I had never heard of until it directly effected our family, but has turned our life upside down. Kids (and adults) who live with this condition have a very hard time trying to eat. Proteins in food cause the body to produce white blood cells and attack the food instead of digesting it. All of this can be terribly painful. Living with EE means strict elimination and experimental dieting, daily medications, invasive endoscopes and sometimes even tube feeding. So far, we are doing ok. But finding things for Mr. L to eat has become quite a challenge, given that he was a very fussy eater to begin with (and when eating causes you pain, who can blame him really?).

So back to the ice cream maker. Have you ever noticed how many ingredients there are in ice cream? Gluten, soy, enormous amounts of sugar.. I was amazed. Ice cream has been something our family always had as a treat, so replacing it has become quite the challenge. There is soy ice cream in  the supermarket, but it is both very expensive and not very nice. So I have set about making our own allergy free sweet treats, with great success. I have been making a few sorbets, and yesterday began to experiment with coconut milk because along with Mr. L not being able to eat dairy, I have a soy allergy. The experiment worked, so here’s the recipe.

This recipe is also husband approved.

Choc Banana + Coconut Ice Cream

Ingredients

1 cup water

1 cup raw sugar (or you could use honey, stevia, agave or another replacement)

2 bananas

1 can coconut milk

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Method

Dissolve sugar in water over a low heat, and allow to cool. Add bananas, coconut milk and cocoa powder to a blender and blend well. Add the syrup mix to the blender and chill in the fridge (approx. 1hr).

Add the mix to your ice cream maker following the manufacturer’s instructions.

The hardest part about making ice cream, is waiting for it to be ready.

Then enjoy your delicious sweet treats!

If you would like to know more about EE/EGID, please visit The CURED Foundation.

Leave a Reply

